A Recent Conversation


 “So, what about all these end of the world movies?”

 “Ya, I know. It’s a hot topic nowadays. I wonder why.”

 “My pastor says the world is going to end before 2018. I don’t like it when people put dates on this stuff… makes them look like a quack. You know, there was book called 88 reasons God is coming back in 1988. That didn’t pan out well. The next year there was another book called 89 reasons God is coming back in 1989. I wonder if the author just ported over most of the previous reasons for the new book. Stupid huh?”

 “I think the end of the world is popular because the Mayan calendar only goes up to 2012. Hence the movie.”

 “Let’s see… there is 2012, I Am Legend, all the zombie movies… what else?”

 “The Day After Tomorrow.”

 “Ya, that was a good one. The reason my pastor says the world will end on 2018 is because there is something in the Bible about God coming back within one generation of Israel becoming a nation. And a generation in the Bible is 70 years… supposedly.”

 “I like Nostradamus. He had some interesting predictions. He said something about World War II: flying machines with pig faces. Pretty accurate.”

 “Ya well… not all of his predictions came true. If he’s not 100% accurate then he’s no good.”

 “No one can be 100% accurate.”

 “True.”

 “Do you believe the Bible to be 100% accurate?”

 “Yes. I do.”

 “It was written by men you know. Jesus didn’t write it. It can’t be 100% accurate.”

 At this I rolled my eyes. “Not another Bible error conversation.” I thought.

 “What’s wrong?”

 *sigh* “It’s just I’ve had too many of these conversations and I’m tired of them. I know what I believe and why I believe it. I don’t need another person telling me how inaccurate the Bible is.”

 “Well, I look at things differently than most people.”

 “I’m sure you do.”

 Post Script:

 I really don’t need men to show me whether the whole Bible is accurate or not. Only a few verses need to be accurate. The ones where God says he has preserved his word. If those verses are good then the rest of the Bible is good.

4 thoughts on “A Recent Conversation

  1. I really don’t need men to show me whether the wtole Bible is accurate or not. Only a few verses need to be accurate. The ones where God says he has preserved his word.

    Ah, but this begs the question! How can you know that these passages are themselves accurate? If there are inaccuracies (and to say that there are quite a few is a gross understatement), these passages can not be accurate since they are in direct contradiction to what is very well known about the bible.

    1. Eh? And what is it that is “very well known about the bible?” I can tell you a few things that are very well known about the bible. That fact the amount of ancient manuscripts of scriptures far outweighs that of Plato, Sun Tzu, Thucydides, Aristotle, Shakespeare, Confucious and all other writings academics take seriously. I can tell you it has a comparison accuracy rating of more than 97%, somthing else not shared by other ancient literature. All this added to the fact that the 66 seperate books of the bible were written over thousands over years by 40 someodd authors and yet it all resonates the same message without a contradiction in it. And these are just the things I can tell you about the textual marvels in scripture.

  2. Let’s get some actual facts into play.

    Timothy, can we have a citation for the study that shows the 97% comparison accuracy rating?

    Shamelessly Atheist, can we get a citation for the inaccuracies you claim?

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

