Errors in the Bible


Science Catching up to God

 

How do you talk to someone about truth if the Bible is faulty? A coworker told me recently that there has to be errors in the Bible because the best way to control the minds of people is to control their source of authority i.e. the Bible. And who’s to say that people didn’t either accidentally or on purpose change words here and there throughout history. OK. Fine. Suppose the Bible was at least partly incorrect, let’s say 25%. That would mean 75% would be correct. How would you distinguish between accurate passages and inacurrate passages? It seems to me that if one part is wrong then all of it can be called into question. I also don’t think that one has to be versed on how many supporting documents the Bible has in order to prove it is true. Nor do I think that one has to know the history or “chain of custody” so to speak. Besides, I never seem to have a history book, or any one of the 5,000 supporting texts with me when I have these conversatons. And because these things are conveniently missing from my fingertips, I can never prove or support my arguments. Therefore, I render the whole “evidence” argument moot. Either the Bible is or isn’t true. Swaying your opponent from his staunch position almost never happens. I mainly find that those who call the Bible into question never really read it anyway. I have yet to be asked a question about a specific “error”. And please don’t gather evidence from here and there piecing together an opinion. Research the source.

5 thoughts on “Errors in the Bible

  1. I rarely meet someone who questions the accuracy of the bible and yet has actually read it. I still think everybody has a different idea of what they mean by accuracy. There seems to be no universal definition for it among those who question the bible’s accuracy.

  2. You being at the beginning. You ask them “if the Bible is full of errors, then what is your standard for truth?”

    If they reply that truth is relative then ask them if they mind you punching them in the nose and stealing their wallet. Chances are they’ll quickly discover that there are some universally accepted truths after all.

    And then you’re in a place to start talking about Mere Christianity.

    1. I like the insertion of Mere Christianity. I’ve never read anything that would convince someone of God better than that book.

Leave a Reply

